Vangi Bhaat


Fresh baby eggplant

Vangi Bhaat – How many of you know of this mouth watering dish that comes from the southern part of India? My neighbor used to make this when I was growing up and I have relished it every single time. It’s a no fuss dish with minimal ingredients and yet every time it tastes so delicious. If you are fan of eggplant, this dish is sure to please your taste buds. I have never made this dish although I always wanted to until I got the inspiration from my dear friend Vaishali of Holy Cow!. The original recipe is here. I did make some very slight modifications to the dish which I have mentioned below and it turned out so darn good. It’s the mixture of spices that Vaishali has mentioned in her recipe that made all the difference. It is even easier to make this recipe if you have left over rice. So give it a try.

Recipe:

Rice – Cooked separately or use left overs
Some eggplant (brinjal) according to rice amount, cut very small
1 medium size onion or per rice amount, cut very small
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp canola or vegetable oil + 1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp rye
Some curry leaves
1 & 1/2 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tbsp channa dal
1 tbsp + 1 tsp urad dal
2 red chilies or per taste
Salt to taste

In a skillet, toast coriander seeds, channa dal, 1 tbsp urad dal, red chilies until golden brown and the spices release their aroma. Using a spice grinder or coffee grinder, powder the toasted spices.

Heat oil in a large skillet, add rye & let it splutter. Now add the remaining urad dal, curry leaves. Once the urad dal has turned golden brown, add onions and sauté until translucent, then add the eggplant pieces. Let the eggplant cook for some time until soft and then add the ground spices, turmeric and mix thoroughly. Cook for a couple of minutes before adding the cooked rice. Mix together gently so that the spices coat every grain of rice well. Garnish with fresh dhania. Serve hot with fried papad. Tastes heavenly.


Super flavorful Vangi Bhaat on fried papad

NOTE: The changes I made from the original recipe – I did not use oil to toast or water to grind, I used onions with eggplant, and I used sesame or gingelly oil along with regular canola or vegetable oil.

I want to say my heartful thanks to Mona of Zaiqa.net for presenting me with the Inspiration Award.

I am very thankful and greatful that my blog has inspired some of the fellow bloggers and non-bloggers. As part of the rules of the award, the main inspiration in my life is my Mom. She is an amazing cook who can cook the most boring, tasteless vegetable and turn it into an work of art that is so delicious. I would like to pass on this award to Vaishali of Holy Cow!, Madhuram of Eggless Cooking, EasyCrafts of Simple Indian Cooking and Kumudha of Global Vegan

This entry was posted in Baingan (Eggplant), Basmati Rice, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Vangi Bhaat

  1. kumudha says:

    Vangi bhaat looks so tasty!

    Thanks for the Inspiration award!

  2. Sonu says:

    Hi, ur Vangi Bhaat looks so yummy…!
    will try it sometime.
    Take care.
    Sonu:)

  3. Vaishali says:

    Dear Priya, Love the modifications you made, and will try it your way soon. I especially love the addition of onions. Thanks so very much for thinking of me for the award- coming from you, it’s a wonderful compliment.

  4. Cinnamon says:

    Vaangi bhaat looks very tasty… Delicious Pic 🙂

  5. easycrafts says:

    Delicious vangi bhath…Thanks a ton for considering me worth this award..and congrats to u too

  6. Srivalli says:

    delicious picture…recently I too made the same though little differently..but I know how yummy it must’ve been ..:)

  7. sushma says:

    Vaani baath is my all time fav. why cant u send this SWC-karnataka hosted by sheethal

  8. oh, I love vangibhaat too!!!! I love the masala so much, that I make it all possible veggies and not just eggplant!! And, congratulations on your award!!!

  9. easycrafts says:

    Hey, I tried ur poha tikki, it was simply amazing..I have an award for u on my blog

  10. Priti says:

    Vangi bhaat looks nice…I have seen so many people preparing that.. I sure need try now. U can send it for Karnataka Event here (http://sweety-mykitchen.blogspot.com/2008/07/announcing-swc-karnataka.html)

    I’m little confuse you said gud idea for the cake or for the Event am hosting?

  11. Priti says:

    Okie..got the point 🙂 and thanks for the compliment :)…If you have time check my blog for the event I’m hosting.

  12. Madhuram says:

    First things first, congrats dear on the good news! Take care of your health. Is this your first or second?

    Sorry Priya, I was not able to visit for quite long time. My mother is here for the first time and we are visiting some place or the other. Thanks for passing me the award I’ll mention about it in my next post.

    Hugs to you.

Leave a comment