Cabbage Rice

YUM. That’s what comes to my mind when I think of this simple dish. With some simple ingredients which apparently could be pre-made and kept ready in your refrigerator, this dish comes out great in no time. My family simply loves it every time I make it. The beauty of this dish is also that it is so versatile; you can add pretty much any vegetable and make it taste different by modifying one or two ingredients. You can also use the spice powder to make vegetable side dishes and not only rice. Now isn’t that a handy spice mix?

Ingredients

* 2 cups rice
* 1 small cabbage thinly sliced
* 1 & 1/2 tbsp coriander seeds
* 1 tbsp channa dal
* 1 tbsp + 1 tsp urad dal
* 2 red chilies or per taste
* 1 tsp canola or vegetable oil
* 1 tsp sesame seed oil
* 1 tsp mustard seeds
* some curry leaves
* 1 medium size onion finely chopped
* 2 cloves of garlic minced
* Salt to taste

Directions:

In a skillet, toast coriander seeds, channa dal, 1 tbsp urad dal, red chilies until golden brown and the spices release their aroma. Using a spice grinder or coffee grinder, powder the toasted spices. Keep aside. Cook rice separately and let it cool.

Heat oil in a large skillet, add mustard seeds & let it splutter. Now add the remaining urad dal, curry leaves. Once the urad dal has turned golden brown, add onions and sauté until translucent, then add the garlic. Now add the cabbage and cook until done. Add this mixture to the cooked rice and also the ground spices, and mix thoroughly. Serve hot with a side of papad or as is. Tastes fantastic.

TIP: Make this spice powder and store it in the refrigerator. It can be used in vegetables as well as rice dishes.

This entry was posted in Basmati Rice, Cabbage, Rice & Products, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cabbage Rice

  1. Divya Vikram says:

    Glad you liked my painting Priya. The cabbage rice sounds like a great way to sneak in cabbage 🙂 great way to make my hubby eat cabbage!

  2. I like this quick version of rice looks delicious. Cabbage rice- some of my favorite ingredients to work with. Yummy. It is making me hungry..

  3. Madhavi says:

    Hey gal,

    Check this “Divya Bhaskar” link. They are using your “Bengali Sweet Sandesh” photo in their paper. Hope with your permission. They are using my “Paneer Pasanda” photo without my permission, even “Sev Tameta nu Shaak ” from Seven Spices. And Paneer Butter Masala from ” Fun and Food” Cafe..without their permission.

    http://www.divyabhaskar.co.in/article/pista-sandesh-1438652.html

  4. Trupti says:

    Hi Priya…I tried this recipe and added peas, carrots and corn along with the cabbage and it tasted awesome. Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe for the tummy:-)

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Hi Trups.. thanks so much for trying it out and giving me an update. I am glad it came out well. I had no idea that you knew it’s my blog 🙂

  5. Beena says:

    Tried this one also. Very tasty.

  6. roopa says:

    Can you please tell me where is the use of sesame oil in this ? Well i prepared with out using it nd it turned out awesome. Thanks a lot

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Roopa thanks for pointing that out. And I am glad it came out well. Sesame oil is drizzles on top to the finished productb to give that extra aroma and flavor. I will update the post too. Thanks for pointing that out

Leave a comment