Lauki Channa Dal

Exotic Squash ~ Lauki

Ing-Lauki-Channa Dal
Lauki and Channa dal

Lauki or Doodhi is also known as bottle gourd. These gourds contain some amounts of Vitamins C and B complex and also a few protein varieties. They contain a lot of water and hence makes them cooling and lubricating. Lauki generally has a very pale green smooth skin and it’s flesh is white. The size and thickness can vary widely. When buying lauki, choose young, light, firm and even in color without many blemishes. Scrape and discard harder portions of skin, and discard seeds if hard or too mature before cooking.

Lauki cooks in no time and since it does not have a predominant taste or smell by itself, it can very well marry the flavors and aroma of other vegetables and spices cooked with it. It is widely used in Ayurveda. My Mom-in-law extracts juice out of lauki every morning with some ginger and honey/brown sugar and drinks it in an empty stomach. It is supposedly very good for health.

Recipe:

1 medium size Lauki
1/2 cup channa dal (split yellow chickpeas)
1 medium size onion chopped
1 green chili chopped
2 – 3 tbsp dahi or curd(yogurt) beaten smooth
2 tsp red chili powder
1 tbsp dhania or coriander powder
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp black mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
Salt to taste
2 tsp Oil

Pressure cook the channa dal until soft. Remove the skin of lauki and cut into small cubes. You can either pressure cook lauki until soft or place it in a vessel with some water, cover it with a lid and cook until soft. Heat oil in a pan and add the mustard seeds, let it splutter. Now add the urad dal and wait until it turn golden brown. Now add the chopped onions, green chilies and saute well. Add the chili powder, dhania powder, turmeric, salt to the dahi and mix well. I know, I have never used dahi, but my mom-in-law made it once and it tasted great. So try it out with dahi. Add this mixture to the onions. Let it cook for sometime until oil separates. Now add the channa dal and lauki and bring it to a boil. Garnish with cilantro and serve hot with rice or Paratha’s or Chappatis or Rotis or Naan bread or Tortillas.

Lauki-ChannaDal
Simple & Satisfying Lauki Channa Dal

This entry was posted in Channa Dal, Dahi (Yogurt/Curd), Dals & Legumes, Lauki(Bottle Gourd), Milk & Products, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Lauki Channa Dal

  1. vimmi says:

    Looks great. I make the same with tomatoes, no yogurt, and add full corriander seeds. made it last week.

  2. Sowjanya says:

    First time to you blog and have to say I think I finally found a one stop shop for veggies recipes 🙂

  3. Vaishali says:

    Hi, Thanks for the lovely recipe. I am always trying to find healthy recipes to make with lauki, and this one seems like a sure winner.

  4. I love chana dal (and tarka dal, come to that – well, probably every dal!). But I hadn’t thought of combining it with another vegetable. I don’t think I’ll be able to get hold of a bottle gourd – so I might try it out with e.g. squash…

  5. priyaskitchen says:

    hi..have made this with dahi and it taste great…

  6. Balu says:

    cool recipe. We call this as “Kootu” in Tamil. One can use cabbage or other vegetables like carrot and beans as well. Good one.

  7. manila says:

    I really like lauki-chana dal. I think it is very nutritious ad yummy. In my recipe I don’t add dahi. But lots of tomatoes. I will also put my recipe for this later on, on my site.

    Even in my sambar I add lauki as the main veggie. Baba Ramdev (do u know him?) always says ‘ lauki khao’.

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Manila, yes, it is very tasty and nutritious, a rare combination indeed. Yes, I know Baba Ramdev and he does recommend these kind of food.

  8. Anju says:

    hey the recipe seems gud n healthy…
    will surely try it 2day and tell how it is.
    thnx 🙂

  9. Sharanya says:

    Hi

    I am gonna try this today. Cannot wait to cook

  10. Chaitanya says:

    Hi ,
    I donno your name, i was searching for s recipe on lauki as i hav some if it in the refrigerator and did want to make what i made last time with milk…this seems an interesting one,,would try it for lunch now and let you know..

    Chaitanya

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Chaitanya, Glad you found this recipe. I am Priya. GIve it a try and do let me know your feedback. It will help me in improving. Thanks.

  11. lizpafrank says:

    i was looking for lauki recipes..and i found this one and another one also. i was surprised to see that you even reply to others comments!! and then i thought i will try this one. you are taking so much trouble. keep it up!!

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Thank you so much lizpafrank. Indeed it is because of you readers that my blogging in continuing and I appreciate each and every one’s comments.

  12. Love to Cook says:

    I was bored of making my usual lauki recipe & found your recipe. I’m so glad I did coz’ it turned out SUPER! Didn’t add the Urad dal…is it the roasted ones???

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Thanks so much Love to Cook. I am very glad that the recipe came out well. It’s all in your hands not my recipe alone 🙂 You took careful attention and cooked hence it turned out well. Urad dal does not come as roasted. It is plain white small capsule like grains. Check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urad_%28bean%29 which has image that says “white lentils”.

  13. lilzbear says:

    One of my favorite ways to serve channa daal. I made this the other day following a recipe, but I thought the water amounts were a bit off and had to adjust. Looking forward to trying this with the other half of lauki I have left in my freezer. BTW, do you know if Lauki and Ghiya are the same thing?

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Thanks Lilzbear for your comment. I am sorry that the water amount did not turn out correct. I hope the next time it comes out well. Yes, Ghiya/Doodhi/Lauki/Bottle Gourd are all same.

  14. Rekha says:

    Just tried your recipe – it looks and smells yum!!! Thank you.

  15. anju says:

    hey… i didnt know we could use curd in lauki chana !! trying this out today

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Yes, Anju.. you surely can. Not too much just a spoonful but also depends on how much quantity you are making to give it a little sourness. Hope you will like it.

  16. Virginia says:

    i am going to try it out now….. and let u know …..though i already feel healthy looking at the recipe…………………………………………………..smiles

Leave a comment