Potato Gratin


Potato Gratin

Potato Gratin is a comfort food originating from France, but these days it is found just about any where. I was surprised to see this new dish in chaat stalls in India. At first I was a bit skeptical to try, but when I tasted it, it sure was soul soothing. It is not a diet food, but it does taste very much like a home cooked comfort food. It is a fast and super easy recipe. Today is being a TGIF, I decided to make this dish and a hearty soup on the side. Here is the recipe.

Recipe: (Makes for 4 people approx.)

4 medium size potatoes – yukon gold or red
1 medium size onion (optional)
2 – 3 cloves of minced garlic (optional)
Any herb of your choice choppedd finely. I used rosemary.
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
3/4 cup milk or cream, I used milk
1 tbsp butter
Salt and Pepper per taste

Preheat the oven to 400F degrees. Thinly slice the potatoes using a box grater which has the slicing blades or a food processor. Butter the bottom of each ramekin and arrange the potatoes overlapping each other. Add thin slices of onion just removing each ring just like in onion rings. Or simply cut them into single layer piece and spread some of them. Sprinkle the herb, salt & pepper mixture and some Parmesan cheese. Repeat this step with another round of potatoes. Heat the milk and pour over each of the ramekin until the potatoes are almost immersed. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, just a few small pieces of butter here and there and bake it for about 20 – 30 minutes or until the potatoes are cooked and the top is golden brown. Let it stand for about 5 -10 minutes before serving. Enjoy this warm, creamy, soul comforting potato dish.


Hot, Cheesy & Sinfully flavorful ~ Potato Gratin

NOTE:
1. I made these gratin in individual portioned ramekins. But you can make it in a large baking dish and adjust the amount of the ingredients accordingly.
2. Since I used individual portioned ramekins, the baking time was less compared to usual 45mins to an hour when you bake large portion in a baking dish.

This entry was posted in Aloo (Potato), Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Potato Gratin

  1. Mala says:

    Hello there,

    I am definitely trying this for my husband who is a potato fan ! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe..

    Can I ask what size ramekins were those ?

    Thanks again !

    Mala

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Mala,

      Thanks so much for your comment. Give it a try. Its super easy. The ramekins I used were say approx. a little bigger then your palm size. I hope this helps.

      Thanks.

  2. Spice Rack says:

    It looks like a pie with spices and herbs from your spice rack and it look so tasty.
    Nice presentation, so organize and like my kitchen and spice rack.

  3. Parita says:

    I always wanted to make this, love the idea of making in individual servings!

Leave a comment