Crispy & Flaky Hot Puffs

Something to please everyone ~ Crispy & Flaky Hot Puffs

We Indians love snacking especially when we sip our evening tea; okay not only then but anytime of the day as long as it is served fresh & hot and puff is definitely one of the favorite snack. It is very easy to prepare and is an instant hit. Of course, when I say it is very easy to make it is because I used Peppridge Farm’s Puff pastry sheets that you find in the frozen aisle. You can also make the pastry shell from scratch but it requires a little extra timing and planning. You can check out the details on how to make from scratch here. Recently, my friends threw a snack party and all I had to do was make the filling and stuff it into the pastry sheets. Then, when the party started, I baked them in the oven for a fresh, hot, flaky puffs. So, give it a try. Your imagination is the limit for the filling.

Recipe: (Makes approx. 12)

4 medium size aloo
1/2 cup thawed mutter
2 tsp red chili powder or per taste
1 tsp garam masala powder
1 small bunch of dhania (herb) finely chopped
2 tsp amchur powder or per taste
1 – 2 green chili finely chopped or per taste
Salt per taste

Thaw the pastry sheets to room temperature. Boil aloo and mash. Add mutter and all the above ingredients and mix well. Taste & adjust seasonings.


Aloo filling for the puffs

Cut the pastry sheets into 3 equal parts. Take a handful of the filling and place it on the sheet a little away from the center as shown below so that the other loose end can be folded easily.


Filling on the puff pastry sheet

Wet your fingers and apply water all around the corners of the sheets. Now fold the loose end of the sheet and press it against the corners. If there is too much filling it might come out of the sheet, so make sure to use just enough.


Unbaked puff pastry sheets with filling

If needed you can brush the outside with some oil, I did not. Bake it in a 375F for about 15 mins or until golden brown. Serve hot as is.


Fresh & Hot from the oven ~ Puffs

This entry was posted in Aloo (Potato), Flour, Maida (All Purpose), Mutter (Peas), Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Crispy & Flaky Hot Puffs

  1. Vaishali says:

    Gosh, Priya, these are so adorable! I have to try these!

  2. sagari says:

    Priya those puffs look sooooooo deleciousssss

  3. Asha says:

    Perfect looking hot and spicy puffs!:))

  4. Lata says:

    I made these on last Saturday for my Mom and she simply loved those.

  5. bhags says:

    these puffs are so perfect, and i have been snacking on them since school days…simply love them

  6. Sonu says:

    Hi Priya, nice and easy-peasy entry from u. I really appreciate ur efforts and the way of giving instructions step-by-step to each n every recipe. And most important, ur detailed photographs are realllyyyyyyy gud…!!!
    I just love ur blog.
    Thanxs 4 sharing.
    bye, tc.
    Sonu:)))

  7. yummm!!! I love puffs. these pastry sheets make the whole process so damn simple!!! back in India, my mom used to make it herself at home… I dont think i can ever get myself to make them!
    yours look perfect!!! pictures look great!

  8. Divya says:

    Hmmm..the puffs looks delicious..just like the ones we buy from bakery.your puffs have got that professional touch..three cheers to you!!great entry!!

  9. sushma says:

    OMG these are perfect puffs which will melt in the mouth my fav this is

  10. Medhaa says:

    these look so yummy

  11. easycrafts says:

    yummy puffs…lovethe filling

  12. Pooja says:

    We used to eat a lot of it in our college canteen.
    Your looks exactly same. too good 🙂 send some here too :D….

  13. oh yumm!! its really looks crispy and falky…awesome puffs! drool!! miss them a lot! 🙂

  14. Nithu says:

    Your puffs looks perfect.

  15. Bhawana says:

    puffs looks so beautiful and delicious. will try this for sure.

  16. Hi,

    I will surely try this..I love patties..I use to eat so many in childhood…
    I also share my recipes on khanakhazana.com

    http://khanakhazana.com/recipes/k_user.aspx?uid=57129&name=Chitra%20Ahluwalia%20Pal

    and

    http://chitrapal.blogspot.com

    Thanks,
    Chitra Ahluwalia Pal

  17. Hi,

    I would love to try this.This looks amazing.

    I also share my recipes on
    http://khanakhazana.com/recipes/k_user.aspx?uid=57129&name=Chitra%20Ahluwalia%20Pal
    and
    http://chitrapal.blogspot.com

    Thanks,
    Chitra Ahluwalia Pal

  18. Priti says:

    Can’t take my eye off frm the pic…looks soooo yummy…lovely…

  19. padma says:

    i made this y day!!and my husband just loved it…he wasn t sure in the beginning if i could manage to make some real puffs…but after a bite,he was convinced and wondering what other stuffing i could use for next time..lolz!!thanks for this wonderful ,yet easy recipe…:)
    thank you

  20. Natasha says:

    Hi Priya,

    I am not a big fan of cooking food. BUT, after coming across your website, I WILL cook!! Thanks a ton for inspiring me. The instructions are seamless and easy to follow. The pictures simply make my mouth water!! Keep up the good work!

    ~Natasha

  21. 365DaysVeg says:

    Natasha,

    I am so glad that I could inspire you to try cooking. Thanks so much for your compliments. It is not that difficult to cook as long as you have all the ingredients, utensils. I am sure you will enjoy it. This recipe is so easy and it takes no time to prepare. Let me know if you would like to see any recipe in particular and I will do my best to add them.

    Thanks.

  22. Sanju says:

    Hey Priya,
    I tried this and it came out perfect even for a “not so good” cook like me.It is very simple and tastes delicious.Thanks for sharing it, Will try with other filling too

  23. Nalini says:

    Hi Priya,

    Quick Question…How long did you bake them for and at what temperature?

  24. Nalini says:

    Sorry answered my own question… 375 Degress for 15 or so mins. Did not read it carefully the first time, i was too distracted by the yummy pictures.

  25. Deepa says:

    hey Priya,

    Tried out this yesterday.And it came out perfect.Even my husband loved it.Thanks for posting it.Its such an easy snack.Loved it.But i had to bake it for 30 min to get it crispy.Don’t mind as it turned out great.:-)

    Regards
    Deepa A

  26. Geetha says:

    Hi
    Yummy!How long before baking can I fill the sheets?Can I fill it ,hape it and refrigerate it for 2-3 hrs before the guests arrive?
    Thanks
    Geetha

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Thank you Geetha. Although I have not tested it myself, I don’t see why not? You should be able to do that as long as the stuffing is at room temperature. i hope this helps.

  27. Harjeet says:

    Hi,

    I accidentally dropped on your blog, but I would say lucky me.. pheww.. amazing easy to do recipes.. I am tempted to try all :D… great work….

    Regards,
    Harjeet K

Leave a comment