Shrikhand

Tantalizing taste & aroma ~ Shrikhand


Elaichi

So, I am back a little sooner than I had anticipated. So that gives me some more time to try out all my family’s favorite recipes. When it comes to spices, nothing can beat the aroma of elaichi, don’t you agree? These spindle-shaped seedpod is packed with highly aromatic seeds plays a huge role in Indian cooking. Be it a dinner or dessert, elaichi can flavor up your food and release aromatic fragrance.
Today, I will show you one such recipe that makes use of this spice and everyone will love it. As usual, my dessert recipes comes with a certain level easiness.

Recipe: (For 4 people)

Dahi 16 oz ( I use Taaza brand because it is Gelatin free and it comes in Organic too)
4 – 6 pods of elaichi
A couple of pinches of kesar
1 tbsp of warm milk
2 – 3 tbsp sugar

Add the kesar to milk and keep it aside so that the milk can start to absorb the color of kesar and turn into that beautiful bright yellowish orange. Place the dahi in a cheese cloth and either tie it to something for the excess water from dahi to be released or place the cheese cloth in a strainer placed over a bowl and let it rest for at least 7 – 8 hours till no more water comes out of dahi. Do not squeeze or press the cheese cloth to remove water.


Dahi after releasing water

Then, place a bowl underneath the cheese cloth, add sugar to the dahi & using the same cheese cloth, try to mash the dahi against it as though the cheese cloth acts like a sieve. You will see that a creamy dahi comes out. This is what gives the shrikhand it’s creamy texture. To this, add the kesar mixture until the desired color of shrikhand is reached and the elaichi powder. Chill it in the refrigerator for about an hour before serving. It is best enjoyed when served cool. Garnish with kesar and pista before serving.


Creamy Shrikhand ~ A perfect dessert for a hot summer day & my entry to Think Spice … Think Cardamom

I also want to thank easycrafts of Simple Indian Food for giving me the You Make My Day Award

and Mona of Modern Hyderabadi Cuisine for giving me the Yummy Blog Award. Thanks so much both of you. Through blogging I have made many new friends and have learned a lot from fellow bloggers. This experience is very empowering.

I would like to pass on this award to
Madhuram of Eggless Cooking. Her eggless baking recipes (which is hard to find) makes me to refer to site often.
Divya of Dil se…. Very very good recipes. I have passed on the recipes to my family too.
Pooja of My Creative Ideas She can cook recipes from any part of the world. Very creative.
Vaishali of Holy Cow. Very creative vegan recipes that she makes me feel being vegan is easy!

This entry was posted in Dahi (Yogurt/Curd), Elaichi (Cardamom), Milk & Products, Spices and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Shrikhand

  1. Hi Priya..Thanks a lot for ur award..Nice of u for thinking about me..Glad to hear u had passed on my recipes to your family members

  2. Madhuram says:

    Are you back from your vacation? Thanks for passing the award. Your shrikhand looks absolutely amazing. I’ll post about the award in my next post.

  3. Cham says:

    Looks really beautiful the dessert. Congrats on ur award

  4. Uma says:

    Shrikand looks so delicious. Congrats on the awards.

  5. sushma says:

    Srikhand luks so yummy and congrats on your awards..

  6. Swati Raman says:

    shrikhands looks too good… 🙂 and congrats on the award…

  7. easycrafts says:

    Yummy shrikhand…I just love to have it with a slice of bread..thanks for sending it to the event

  8. ranji says:

    shrikand looks awesome,very creamy!!!…photo looks good too..

  9. Kumudha says:

    Wow! so many delicious vegetarian recipes with stunning pictures!

  10. Madhavi says:

    Srikhand looks mouth watering, wow very sweet sweet entry :)))

  11. Hetal says:

    Homemade shrikhand……this looks so delicious..

  12. 365DaysVeg says:

    Thanks a lot Athisaya Divya, Uma, Cham, Madhuram, Sushma, Swati, EasyCrafts, Kumudha, Madhavi, Hetal. All your comments means a lot to me.
    Madhuram, yes, I came back a little earlier so I got some time to prepare this dish in advance.

    Do try out this recipe and make sure to press the dahi against the cheese cloth which gives it’s creamy texture. It turns out great.

    Thanks.

  13. A says:

    Hey, this is my first visit to your website n just loved it. Your recipes n pics look really great! I have a question(may be silly), where do I find cheese cloth?

  14. 365DaysVeg says:

    Hi A,

    Thanks for your wonderful comment. You can find cheesecloth in any local grocery store. You can also find them at walmart, target. I hope this helps.

    Thanks

  15. A says:

    Thank you!

  16. Sonu says:

    Hi there,

    ur Shrikhand recipe just simply superb and ur snaps are just fantastic…!!! my mom used to make Shrikhand as well…u have reminded me my days.
    I hope this time I will have reply frm u.:(
    bye. tc.
    Keep it up.
    Cheers,
    Sonu.:)

  17. 365DaysVeg says:

    Thanks so much Sonu. I am sorry if I had not responded to your comments earlier. Yes, Shrikhand is one of those comfort foods/desserts and brings back good old memories. It’s a very easy recipe & I hope I have inspired you to make it.

  18. Sonu says:

    Thanks for ur reply dear. I m going to make it soon. Yes…U and ur fantastic blog certainly inspired me for making traditional and non-traditional dishes…!!! Please dnt think that I m buttering up u here. I tell u my words by heart. BTW, If I am not wrong ur name is Priya. I had read in somebody’s comment in ur blog.
    cheers,
    Sonu 😀

  19. Sangeetha says:

    You shrikhand looks fabulous and I used it as an inspiration to make mine for the ‘Less is More’ event. 🙂

  20. You mentioned elachi pods as an ingredient in this dish, but when do we add it into the recipe? I don’t see it added anywhere in the dish. Is it just for the topping as garnish?

  21. 365DaysVeg says:

    Thanks Supriya for correcting it. I have added the elaichi powder. Basically after the dahi is mashed well, you can add it anytime.

    Thanks.

Leave a comment