Rava Idly

Everyday food ~ Rava Idly

RavaIdlyIng
Vegetables for rava idly

The idli or idly, is a savory dish popular throughout southern India. They are round in shape and are made by steaming a batter consisting of fermented lentils and rice. The variation of rava idly comes from using semolina and it is a much healthier version because it is made from wheat and/or vegetables. Most often rava idly’s are eaten at breakfast or evening tiffin, served with chutney or other accompaniments. Steamed and made with rava and vegetables – what could be more tastier and healthier? I doubt it. They are so easy to make than regular plain idly’s because plain one’s need soaking, fermenting and grinding before cooking them. But these humble rava one’s make use of basic pantry ingredients and takes very less time before it is ready to be served on the table.

Recipe: (Makes about 12 idly’s)
2 cups of rava
2 small aloo finely chopped
1 carrot finely chopped
peas (optional)
1 tsp finely minced or grated ginger
1/2 cup dahi
2 tsp rye (mustard seeds)
2 tsp urad dal
2 tsp channa dal
some dhania finely chopped
1 green chili finely chopped
salt to taste
Oil

Use a couple of tbsp of oil to the rava and mix well. When you take a handful of the mixture in your hand and squeeze them, you should be able to hold the shape of the rava some what. If not, add a little bit more oil. This makes the idly’s come out soft. Keep it aside for about 10 -15 minutes. Add some water to the dahi and make it a butter milk. Heat 1 tbsp oil and add rye, let it splutter. Then add the urad dal, channa dal and until the color turns golden brown. Add this to the rava mixture. Add all the vegetables, ginger, chili and dahi as well and mix it well to get a little thicker than a pouring consistency.

RavaIdlyBatter
Batter for rava idly

Pour into idli plates and steam it for about 15 – 20 minutes until cooked. Serve hot with coconut chutney or savor as is.

Rava-Idly
Rava Idly

NOTE:
Off late, I dry roast the sooji a little and then follow the exact same recipe. This gives the idli’s a nice color and more grainy texture.

This entry was posted in Aloo (Potato), Carrots, Dahi (Yogurt/Curd), Grains, Milk & Products, Sooji (Semolina), Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Rava Idly

  1. TBC says:

    How good does that look! Makes me want to have one! and I don’t even like idlis. 🙂

  2. dhivya says:

    wow!looks great…nice presentation

  3. Uma says:

    Nice combo of veggies! Never heard of adding potato in idlis! So innovative.

  4. Vaishali says:

    Very innovative, Priya. Looks delicious and healthy!

  5. easycrafts says:

    Nice idea…have never tried the usual rava idli with veggies

  6. easycrafts says:

    U have been tagged…visit my blog for details

  7. Nanditha says:

    first time at your place.. your idlies and really healthy and mouth watering… will surely give it a try!

  8. Madhuram says:

    Priya I tried this one on tuesday for dinner and it came out very well. I didn’t write it immediately because I thought you were on a vacation. I have taken the pictures also and I’ll post it in my blog shortly.

  9. Asha says:

    Great looking idlis, looks very soft!:))

  10. Madhuram says:

    Priya I have posted about my experience with the rava idly in my blog yesterday. Thanks for the recipe.

  11. gowri says:

    Your rava idly looks great. Photographs are really wonderful. Excellent photos.

  12. bhuvana says:

    Hay nice recipe ya!!!!!!!Definetely i will teied in my home.Today i had learnt a nice recipe. Thanks for your tips and recipes.

    _________________________
    bhuvana

    Blaze Infotech

  13. Katalin says:

    Hi ladies,
    I love Indian cooking. Spent lots of time in India years ago and brought back a cookbook.
    Sometimes I don’t know know what some expressions mean. Like, Rava. What is it? What is a American equivalent?
    Please advise
    Katalin

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Katalin,

      Thanks for checking out the recipes and I am happy to know about your stay in India. Sooji or Rava or Rawa means Semolina. It is also called as cream of wheat. I hope this helps. I usually add the translations in my “Terminology” section but somehow missed this one. Thanks for letting me know.

      Thanks.

  14. Riya says:

    Tried ur recipe today.Came out well.But does roasted/unroasted rava makes difference with consistency of the batter? I used roasted rava and some of the ildis didnt stick together that well.

  15. Riya says:

    But I should mention that my hubby loved it who very rarely criticizes.Ha ha.So I showed ur Idli photos and said that is the benchmark for comparison!! :-))

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Riya, Thanks so much for checking out the recipe and even giving it a try! I am glad your hubby loved it and I hope you did too. Well, usually toasting the rava a little does make a difference in it’s consistency. The same goes true while making pulao. Toast the rice with vegetables before adding water. It makes huge difference.
      Hope this helps.
      Take care.

  16. Riya says:

    Thanks for ur quick reply.Will try to include ur tips next time.Btw, all ur photographs are awesome.Ur photos does give me the drive to try ur recipes.Keep up the great work.Cheers!!

  17. Vinolia says:

    I love rava idlis; adding carrots, peas and potatoes to the batter is a wonderful idea 🙂

  18. Deepa says:

    Hey,

    Thank you for posting such tasty and simple recipes..It really helps people like me who are new to cooking..I tried Rava Idly other day..It turned out good…But my only concern was it didnt fluff up like rice idly..Is it normal??..Coz the taste was good and idly was soft …Should i fry the rava next time??

    Regards
    Deepa

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Deepa, Thanks so much for checking out the recipe and even giving it a try! usually with the above recipe the idli will not fluff but it will be soft as you said. But you can try adding a little bit of Eno ( 1/2 – 1 tsp depending on the amount of batter) and then try. This may fluff the idly a little. Because we do not ferment or add yeast like idli batter, fluffiness does not come, but try adding eno and see.

      Hope this helps. take care.

      • Deepa says:

        Hey ,

        Thanks for such prompt reply.Ya i know about Eno.As i am pregnant i didn’t want to use soda.So yours was the only site where i found the recipe without using Eno.
        Thats why i liked it.Anyways thanks for your help.As long as the Idly tastes good and is soft i dont mind much about the fluffy part.
        The other day i tried your Lauki Recipe..It turned out awesome.Thanks for posting such wonderful and easy recipes.I do have a suggestion.Can you post some Soup and Juice recipes.Specially for pregnancy..Its just a request.

        Thanks and regards
        Deepa A

      • 365DaysVeg says:

        Deepa, I will surely try to add soups/juice recipes. I am going to add a cake recipe soon and after that I promise to add your request. I know in pregnancy juice and soups are very good for the health and in general too. I just delivered a baby and he is 6 & 1/2 months old.. Life is super busy yet very very rewarding. Enjoy your pregnancy and I wish you the very best.

      • Deepa says:

        Thanks dear..Cake recipe.Now that sound awesome..Waiting for that.Till then i will keep trying the recipes that are available.
        Congrats to you too Priya.I know it would be really difficult for you to get time.Still you are doing such a good job.

        Thanks and Regards
        Deepa A

  19. Fanny Ashwin says:

    very nice recipe, i love rava idly

  20. madhvi says:

    hey thanks a tone for this delicious rava idli i really like it a lot

  21. nilofar says:

    havent come across such a dainty dish for a long time…..simple and easy to cook!

  22. Denny says:

    wow..this looks so yummy. I am out of idly batter, will make this very soon.

  23. Ruth says:

    Hi Priya… Got ur recipe from Madhuram’s website !! I was doubtful if so easy a recipe would come out good…..but now I have no doubts. I just made a batch and they are simple to make and yummy !!

    Just one question, could you soak the rava in a little bit of water instead of the oil ..in the first part of the recipe ?

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Thanks so much ruth for taking time to post a comment/feedback. You do not need to soak in water. Infact, using oil a little makes the idli soft. You can keep the rava aside after you have mixed well with this oil but not water. I hope this helps. Its been ages since I blogged and life has changed a lot after my little one has arrived. 2 words – No time! 🙂

  24. sheela says:

    I made the idlis with a slight variation, used broken wheat and rava, they turned out great.

  25. salomi says:

    Tried this recipe, the idlis were very tasty. Thank you for this easy recipe.

  26. Leens says:

    Hi and thank u for posting this.I am still on my quest for soft rava idlies even after trying ur recipe.I think i did not add enough water. Next time u make this if u could measure how much water you used and post it , it would help me out alot.I do not understand what consistency it should be even tho u mentioned it.

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Leens, so sorry it did not turn out well. If you see everyone’s comment it seems to have done a good job. The consistency should be the same as idli batter. Try this, add a tsp of eno just before you make idli’s. It will make the idli softer. I hope this helps.

  27. Sesha says:

    what is ENO?? u mean the fruit salt that we use for stomach troubles?

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Yes, its the same ENO Sesha. It has the property of even tenderizing and making idli’s fluffy. A lot of recipe uses ENO. You don’t have to add too much just a tsp or so. Even Bhajji or Bhajia’s use ENO to make the outer layer come out fluffy. I hope this helps.

  28. Your idli looks gorgeous and delicious. I have one question, the chana and urad dhal, do you add them dry or are they pre-soaked?

    • 365DaysVeg says:

      Hi Lovliebutterfuly, thanks so much for your comments. You add them in oil after the mustard seeds splutter. They are NOT soaked. Just add the dry ones that you get from the store.

      • Thank you so much for replying. I love idli and I don’t like buying the idli mix that you get in the stores. This one looks very easy to do! I’ll try it. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

  29. shalini parihar says:

    wow!!!! its lookin so yummy .even i wanna try it ery soon …..

Leave a comment