MultiGrain Veggie Open Faced Sandwich

Life is super darn busy with 2 little boys keeping me on my toes all from dawn to dusk. I have no time to sit and sip a cup of tea or watch my favorite cooking programs or read a book. Nevertheless it has been very rewarding and thankful for my little ones and my life in general. Life has changed for the better in every possible way but some basic necessities always remain and one critical thing is food. My older son tells me that he wants to eat this, eat that and it actually makes me want to make for him and when he says “Yummy Yummy hai” in Hindi, my hearts melts and pounds with immense joy. For the most part he eats whatever I serve him at times he asks for something different which makes me come up with something easy and cheesy for him and one such recipe is this sandwich. It’s a great way to add multigrain, vegetables and calcium (cheese) all in one sandwich.

Preparing Open Faced Sandwich


Ingredients:
1 zucchini grated
1 green pepper diced
1 roasted pepper in jar or homemade
1/4 cabbage thinly sliced
Butter
Whole grain bread
1 small garlic clove minced (optional)
Cheese of your choice
1 tsp olive oil
Salt per taste
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Ready to be baked ~ Open Faced Sandwich


Directions:
Heat oil and sauté zucchini, cabbage, bell pepper and garlic. When the vegetables are almost cooked, add salt and pepper, let it cool. Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Apply butter on each slice of bread. Place some vegetable mixture, then some roasted peppers cut thinly on top. Sprinkle some shredded cheese. I used my favorite fontina cheese. Line a baking sheet with aluminium foil and place the bread and bake it for about 3 minutes or until the cheese melts and corners of the bread are golden brown. If you want the cheese to be brown, you can broil it for a minute or less.

Fresh, Hot from the Oven ~ MultiGrain Vegetable Open Faced Sandwich


NOTE: If you do not have roasted peppers in the jar, you can use fresh peppers or even substitute with grated carrots while cooking other vegetables. You can also add red pepper flakes or jalapenos for extra kick if you like.

This entry was posted in Main Course, MultiGrain Veggie Sandwich and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MultiGrain Veggie Open Faced Sandwich

  1. i love open faced sandwiches- with cheese meling this one looks swell !

  2. veenashankar says:

    So Yummy! I love bread! too many ways to do the sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

