Lemon Creme Brulee

Instant Dessert ~ Lemon Creme Brulee

CremeBrulee
Lemon Creme Brulee for JFI Lime/Lemon

Lemon/Lime – who would think that such a small citrus fruit can do wonders when it comes to cooking, baking, health benefits and much more, not to mention that it is so inexpensive. On a hot summer day, you will find kids put up lemonade stalls along roadside. One sip from those chilled homemade lemonade is enough to quench your thirst, satisfy you and forgo the intense heat. Such a humble fruit is this little lemon. Although the choices are innumerable when preparing dishes out of lemon, my all time favorite is Mom’s homemade Nimbu (lemon) pickle. It’s really YUM and when you have just a small taste of it, you get the tingle in your mouth. Even if I think about it, my mouth waters and yearns for having it. But I am lucky that I have some homemade nimbu pickle, so I am going to make something different with lemon (which I sort of remember seeing it on foodnetwork long ago); well, not really lemon, but it’s flavor – a dessert.

Recipe: (for 4 people)
1 packet Instant Lemon Pudding mixture.
Handful of Blueberries
2 tbsp of sugar
2 cups cold milk – approx.

Mix pudding mixture and milk and whisk well or follow package directions. Place a few blueberries in 4 ramekins and then pour the pudding mixture. Tap on a flat surface to even out the mixture and to remove any air bubbles. Refrigerate it for about 20 minutes. Then remove from refrigerator and sprinkle some sugar on top. Using a creme brulee torch try to caramelize the sugar. In case you do not find a torch, you can use a broiler at about 300F for just a couple of minutes. Make sure to watch the ramekins under broiler so that the sugar doesn’t get burnt. The only difference you will find between caramelizing using a torch and a broiler is that the pudding will be cold when a torch is used and warm if broiled. Personally, I prefer using the torch and cold version is what is served in restaurants also. Let it cool down for a minute or two. The sugar will get hardened and forms a nice crunchy layer on top of the pudding. Garnish with some more blueberries and rine of lemon and serve. But I am not done yet.
I want to thank Vaishali of Holy Cow and Mona of Zaiqa for presenting me the Nice Matters Award. This is such an honor and I am very pleased. This happens to be my very first award and recognition for my work. Thank you very much.

NiceMatters

It has been only a few months since I started blogging and it has been an amazing experience. I have learned that there is whole new world for blogging that is dedicated to cooking. It is a wonderful feeling for me to know and learn from so many people through blogging from corners of the world who have unique way of writing and cooking. I would like to pass on this award to:
-Vaishali of Holy Cow. I truly appreciate her kindness to other living beings and being a Vegan.
-TBC of The Budding Cook. I love her style of writing and her pictures are as real as in reality.
-Mona of Zaiqa who helped me while I was still a beginner in blogging. She always has slight variations from my recipes and that really interests me more about her.
-Jenn of The Left Over Queen. She is one heck of a writer and has so much recipes that I wonder how much enthusiasm she has. And thanks to her for adding me to the blogroll that gave me so much visibility.
-Susan of The Well-Seasoned Cook. She always amazes me with her recipes.

This entry was posted in Blueberries, Doodh (Milk), Fruits, Lemon-Lime, Milk & Products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lemon Creme Brulee

  1. dhivya says:

    awesome recipe…presentation is very good….

  2. Nidhi says:

    Hmmm looks easy and yummy..will surely give it a try!

    congratulations for the award!

  3. easycrafts says:

    Congratulations on the award..

  4. Thank you so much Priya! You are such a sweetie! I love your creme brulee too!

  5. alpa says:

    love the lemony color and i bet it tastes fantastic. Congratulations on your award!

  6. Mona says:

    Thanks Priya! :-) I never had this Lemon Creme Brulee before, looks lovely and irresistible! Love puddings a looot.

  7. arundati says:

    looks fab!! i love anything lemony in a dessert

  8. Vaishali says:

    Priya, the lemon creme brulee looks absolutely sensational — and it sounds delicious and simple. Thanks very much for thinking of me with the Nice award- I truly appreciate it!

  9. jeena says:

    Hi there my name is Jeena and I have started a food recipe forum that I thought you would like to join here Click here for food recipe forum

    I would love to see you on there to chat about food and cooking you can talk about anything you like and start your very own topics. :-)

    Hope to see you soon

    Thanks

    Jeena x

  10. Homecooked says:

    Wow…great recipe.Found your blog through the JFI:Lemon event.The pic looks fabulous.

  11. You know what ? I hadn’t thought of adding lemon to my creme brulee pies. Maybe that’s because I don’t really like lemon too much. Might give it a try.

  12. Fantastic recipe, thanks for sharing it. Mind if i link to it on my site?

Leave a Reply

