Quinoa Edamame Pulao

Winter is here and we all know what it can do to us. Any guess? Well, if not you, there used to be when I used to exercise less, felt lethargic, and to top it off I craved for unhealthy foods which soothed my soul. Have you encountered this at all? I feel like sitting in my PJ’s all day with a cup of coffee and munch something fried or make quick junk meals that don’t serve much purpose. Yes, that phase was short-lived and life has changed; I am not single in the city anymore nor am I in my teens where I probably could afford to cheat with food here and there :) I have huge responsibilities and my life revolves around my family with 3 BFF’s- my husband and 2 kids. I am truly blessed that they are in my life and my kids teach me to a better parent everyday. They inspire me each and everyday to cook healthy super fast yet tasty meals and this recipe evolved the same way. Hope your family enjoys it too.

Quinoa Edamame Pulao

Ingredients:
1/2 cup Basmati rice
1/2 cup Quinoa
1/2 cup shelled Edamame
2 green onions finely chopped
1 medium potato diced
1 tsp jeera
2 tsp oil
3 cloves
1 small piece of cinnamon stick
1 cardamom pod
1 green chili or per taste
Salt per taste
1/2 tsp ghee (optional)

Mouthwatering Super Easy ~ Quinoa Edamame Pulao

Directions

Soak rice and quinoa for at least 30 minutes. In a pressure cooker, heat oil, add jeera, cinnamon stick, cloves and sauté. Add potatoes, green chili and mix well. Remove water from the rice quinoa mixture and mix them well with potatoes to coat all the spices well. Now measure twice the amount of water to rice quinoa mixture and add to the cooker. Add salt, remove cardamom seeds from the pod, crush and add it too. Mix well, bring it to boil, cover with lid and pressure cook with one whistle sound on medium flame. Turn off stove. Once the pressure settles, open the lid and add green onions, edamame, and ghee, gently mix, cover it for about 5 minutes. Remove lid let it stand for another 15 minutes before mixing again so that rice remains separate and does not turn mushy. Adjust for seasonings and enjoy.

Super tasty and healthy Family favorite ~ Quinoa Edamame Pulao

This entry was posted in Main Course, Quinoa Edamame Pulao and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

